Representatives Council

As defined in Article 9.1 of the APTPUO Constitution, “The Representatives Council is composed of all APTPUO members who represent Association members at the Academic unit and higher levels of university governance at the University of Ottawa, as well as each member of the Board of Directors”. Thus, the Representatives Council is made up of every member who is elected as a department or faculty representative. 

The role of the Representatives Council is as follows: 

  • Make recommendations to the Board of Directors and to General Assemblies of our membership. 
  • May make decisions on behalf of the Association that are in accordance with the Association’s constitution, by-laws and policies.

The Council meets at least 4 times a year to fulfil its role and report to the Board of Directors. For more details on the functioning of the Council and the structure of the Association, we invite you to consult our Constitution and By-Laws.

The members of the Representatives Council are as follows:

  1. Faculty of Arts
  2. Faculty of Education
  3. Faculty of Engineering
  4. Faculty of Medicine
  5. Faculty of Sciences
  6. Faculty of Health Sciences
  7. Faculty of Social Sciences
  8. Telfer School of Management (N/A)
  9. Faculty of Law

Faculty of Arts

Faculty Representatives: 

  • Gustavo Freire — gfreire@uottawa.ca
  • Karim Achab — kachab@uottawa.ca
  • Vacant (2021)

Departments

  • Visual Arts: Chantal Rodier — crodier@uottawa.ca
  • Communications:
    • Valerie Noftle — vnoftle@uottawa.ca
    • Jean-Sébastien Marier — jmarie3@uottawa.ca
  • English:
    • Sean Moreland — smorelan@uottawa.ca
    • Erin Kean — ekean@uottawa.ca
  • Indigenous Studies: N/A
  • Classics and Religious Studies:
    • Rajiv Bhola — rbhola@uottawa.ca
    • Yves Laberge — ylaberge@uottawa.ca
  • Français:
    • Monia Brahim —  mbrahim@uottawa.ca
    • Julie Delorme — Julie.Delorme@uottawa.ca
  • Geography: N/A
  • History: Jo-Anne McCutcheon — jomac@uottawa.ca
  • OLBI (ELS): Reza Farzi — rfarzi@uottawa.ca
  • OLBI (FLS): Brunella Masciantonio  — bmascian@uottawa.ca
  • Modern Languages and Literatures:
    • Arkadi Klioutchanski  — aklioutc@uottawa.ca
    • Natalia Vesselova  — nvesselo@uottawa.ca
    • Elisabeth Schwaiger — eschwaig@uottawa.ca
  • Linguistic: Gustavo Freire — gfreire@uottawa.ca
  • Music:
  • Philosophy: Noureddine Mouelhi — nmouelhi@hotmail.com
  • Information Studies:  N/A
  • Theater: Kristina Watt — kwatt@uottawa.ca
  • Translation and Interpretation:
    • Raul Colon — rcolonro@uottawa.ca
    • Scott Irving — sirving@uottawa.ca

Faculty of Education

Faculty Representatives: 

  • Luc Angers — langers@uottawa.ca
  • Olga Fellus — olga.fellus@uottawa.ca

Departments

  • Formation à l’enseignement: Luc Anger — langers@uottawa.ca
  • Teacher Education: Greer Knox — gknox@uottawa.ca
  • Graduates Studies:
    • Aliya Kuzhabekova — akuzhabe@uottawa.ca
    • Hugh Kellam — hkell094@uottawa.ca

Faculty of Engineering

Faculty Representatives: 

  • Muslim Majeed – mmajeed@uottawa.ca
  • Mahmud Hasan – mhasan@uottawa.ca

Departments

  • Chemical and Biological Engineering: Graham Creedy — gcreedy@uottawa.ca
  • Civil Engineering: 
    • Muslim Majeed — mmajeed@uottawa.ca
    • Alaa Abdulrhida — aabdu070@uottawa.ca
  • Mechanical Engineering: Zekai Hong — zhong2@uottawa.ca
  • Electrical Engineering and Computer Science: 
    • Mohamed H. Ahmed — mahme3@uottawa.ca
    • Djilali Hamza — dhamza@uottawa.ca

Faculty of Medicine

  • Cellular Molecular Medicine: N/A
  • Innovation in Medical Education: N/A
  • Biochemistry Microbiology, Immunology: N/A
  • Epidemiology and Public Health: N/A

Faculty of Sciences

Faculty Representative: 

  • Alexandra Pettit — Alexandra.Pettit@uottawa.ca

Departments

  • Biology: Alexandra Pettit — Alexandra.Pettit@uottawa.ca
  • Chemistry : Anwer Hasil Kottarampatel — akottara@uottawa.ca
  • Mathematics and Statistics: Abdelkrim El Basraoui — aelba026@uottawa.ca
  • Physics : N/A
  • Earth and Environmental Sciences: N/A

Faculty of Health Sciences

Faculty Representatives: 

  • Janie Cournoyer — jcournoy@uottawa.ca
  • Seynab Sougal — ssougal@uottawa.ca

Departments

  • Human Kinetics: Iain Mckenna — imckenn2@uottawa.ca 
  • Nutrition Sciences: Solange Lamont — slamont@uottawa.ca
  • Rehabilitation Sciences: N/A
  • Health Sciences (interdisciplinary): 
    • Ron Saulnier — rsaulnie@uottawa.ca 
    • Rodrigue Deuboué — rdeub006@uottawa.ca
  • Nursing: Phillip Nguyen — pnguye4@uottawa.ca

Faculty of Social Sciences

Departments

  • Criminology: 
    • Vajmeh Tabibi — vtabi071@uottawa.ca
    • Kate Fletcher — kfletch2@uottawa.ca
  • International Development and Global Studies: Ruby Dagher — rdaghe3@uottawa.ca
  • Feminist and Gender Studies: N/A
  • Political Studies: Andrew Heffernan — Andrew.Heffernan@uottawa.ca 
  • Sociological and Anthropological Studies: Jean-Francois Chapman — jchap090@uottawa.ca
  • Public and International Affairs: Élysée-Robert Cadet — ecade2@uottawa.ca 
  • Psychology: 
    • Nathalie Le Marec — nlemarec@uottawa.ca
    • Najat Firzly — nfirz015@uottawa.ca
  • Economics: Marc Prud’homme — mprudhom@uottawa.ca
  • Social Work: Stéphanie Bogue Kerr — sbogu086@uottawa.ca

Faculty of Law

Faculty Representatives: 

  • Manon Lapointe — mlapoi23@uOttawa.ca
  • Jessica Dufresne — jdufr080@uottawa.ca

Departments

  • Common Law: Andrew Lister — alister@uottawa.ca