Representatives Council

As defined in Article 9.1 of the APTPUO Constitution, “The Representatives Council is composed of all APTPUO members who represent Association members at the Academic unit and higher levels of university governance at the University of Ottawa, as well as each member of the Board of Directors”. Thus, the Representatives Council is made up of every member who is elected as a department or faculty representative. 

The role of the Representatives Council is as follows: 

  • Make recommendations to the Board of Directors and to General Assemblies of our membership. 
  • May make decisions on behalf of the Association that are in accordance with the Association’s constitution, by-laws and policies.

The Council meets at least 4 times a year to fulfil its role and report to the Board of Directors. For more details on the functioning of the Council and the structure of the Association, we invite you to consult our Constitution and By-Laws.

The members of the Representatives Council are as follows:

  1. Faculty of Arts
  2. Faculty of Education
  3. Faculty of Engineering
  4. Faculty of Medicine
  5. Faculty of Sciences
  6. Faculty of Health Sciences
  7. Faculty of Social Sciences
  8. Telfer School of Management (N/A)
  9. Faculty of Law

Faculty of Arts

Faculty Representatives: 

  • Raul Colon — rcolonro@uottawa.ca

Departments

  • Visual Arts: Sarah Rooney — srooney@uottawa.ca
  • Communications: Jean-Sébastien Marier — jmarie3@uottawa.ca
  • English:
    • Jennifer Baker — jbake4@uottawa.ca
    • Erin Kean — ekean@uottawa.ca
  • Indigenous Studies: N/A
  • Classics and Religious Studies: Louise Stephens —stephenl@uottawa.ca
  • Français:
    • Caroline Prud’homme — cprudho3@uottawa.ca
    • Julie Delorme — Julie.Delorme@uottawa.ca
  • Geography:
    • Nicolas Onemba Shuku — nshuku@uottawa.ca
    • Lazar Ilic — lilic@uottawa.ca
  • History:
    • Jo-Anne McCutcheon — jomac@uottawa.ca
    • Thomas Boogaart— tboogaar@uottawa.ca
  • OLBI (ELS): Reza Farzi — rfarzi@uottawa.ca
  • OLBI (FLS): Brunella Masciantonio  — bmascian@uottawa.ca
  • Modern Languages and Literatures:
    • Arkadi Klioutchanski  — aklioutc@uottawa.ca
    • Natalia Vesselova  — nvesselo@uottawa.ca
  • Linguistic: Gustavo Freire — gfreire@uottawa.ca
  • Music:
    • Geneviève Bazinet — gbazinet@uottawa.ca
    • Robert Rival — Robert.Rival@uottawa.ca
  • Philosophy: Tansy Etro-Beko tetrobek@uottawa.ca
  • Information Studies:  N/A
  • Theater: 
    • Natalie Joy Quesnel — nquesnel@uottawa.ca
    • Kristina Watt — kwatt@uottawa.ca
  • Translation and Interpretation: Raul Colon — rcolonro@uottawa.ca

Faculty of Education

Faculty Representatives: 

  • Olga Fellus — olga.fellus@uottawa.ca
  • Luc Angers — langers@uottawa.ca

Faculty of Engineering

Faculty Representatives: 

  • Muslim Majeed — mmajeed@uottawa.ca
  • Nicolas Burn — nburn@uottawa.ca

Departments

  • Chemical and Biological Engineering: Graham Creedy — gcreedy@uottawa.ca
  • Civil Engineering: 
    • Muslim Majeed — mmajeed@uottawa.ca
    • Alaa Abdulrhida — aabdu070@uottawa.ca
  • Mechanical Engineering: To be confirmed
  • Electrical Engineering and Computer Science: Fadi Malek malek@uottawa.ca
  • School of Engineering Design and Teaching Innovation: Emmanuel Bouendeu   ebouende@uottawa.ca

Faculty of Medicine

  • Cellular Molecular Medicine: N/A
  • Innovation in Medical Education: N/A
  • Biochemistry Microbiology, Immunology: N/A
  • Epidemiology and Public Health: N/A

Faculty of Sciences

Faculty Representative: 

  • Richard Goulet rgoule2@uottawa.ca
  • Anwer Hasil Kottarampatel akottara@uottawa.ca

Departments

  • Biology: Marie-Claire Namroud mnamroud@uottawa.ca
  • Chemistry : To be confirmed
  • Mathematics and Statistics: Abdelkrim El Basraoui — aelba026@uottawa.ca
  • Physics : N/A
  • Earth and Environmental Sciences: Richard Goulet — rgoule2@uottawa.ca

Faculty of Health Sciences

Faculty Representatives: 

  • Julien Pelletier jpelleti@uottawa.ca
  • Ron Saulnier rsaulnie@uottawa.ca

Departments

  • Human Kinetics: Darrin Wijeyaratnam
  • Nutrition Sciences: Walid Mottawea — wmott020@uottawa.ca
  • Rehabilitation Sciences: N/A
  • Health Sciences (interdisciplinary): 
    • Ron Saulnier — rsaulnie@uottawa.ca 
    • Rodrigue Deuboué — rdeub006@uottawa.ca
  • Nursing: To be confirmed

Faculty of Social Sciences

Faculty Representative: 

  • Andrew Heffernan — Andrew.Heffernan@uottawa.ca 

Departments

  • Criminology: 
    • Erin McCuaig-Lambrinakos emccuaig@uottawa.ca
    • Kate Fletcher — kfletch2@uottawa.ca
  • International Development and Global Studies: Nicolas Parent — nparen3@uottawa.ca
  • Feminist and Gender Studies: N/A
  • Political Studies:
    • Andrew Heffernan — Andrew.Heffernan@uottawa.ca 
    • Tyler Attwood tyler.attwood@uottawa.ca
  • Sociological and Anthropological Studies:
    • Élysée Cadet-Robert ecade2@uottawa.ca
    • Isaak Nizigama inizigam@uottawa.ca
  • Public and International Affairs: To be confirmed
  • Psychology: Mary Theresa Howard — mthoward@uottawa.ca
  • Economics: Marc Prud’homme — mprudhom@uottawa.ca
  • Social Work: To be confirmed

Faculty of Law

Faculty Representatives: 

  • Common Law: To be confirmed
  • Droit Civil: 
    • Jean-Bosco Iyakaremye jyyakare@uottawa.ca
    • Jessica Dufresne jdufres2@uottawa.ca