Representatives Council

As defined in Article 9.1 of the APTPUO Constitution, “The Representatives Council is composed of all APTPUO members who represent Association members at the Academic unit and higher levels of university governance at the University of Ottawa, as well as each member of the Board of Directors”. Thus, the Representatives Council is made up of every member who is elected as a department or faculty representative. 

The role of the Representatives Council is as follows: 

  • Make recommendations to the Board of Directors and to General Assemblies of our membership. 
  • May make decisions on behalf of the Association that are in accordance with the Association’s constitution, by-laws and policies.

The Council meets at least 4 times a year to fulfil its role and report to the Board of Directors. For more details on the functioning of the Council and the structure of the Association, we invite you to consult our Constitution and By-Laws.

The members of the Representatives Council are as follows:

  1. Faculty of Arts
  2. Faculty of Education
  3. Faculty of Engineering
  4. Faculty of Medicine
  5. Faculty of Sciences
  6. Faculty of Health Sciences
  7. Faculty of Social Sciences
  8. Telfer School of Management (N/A)
  9. Faculty of Law

Faculty of Arts

Faculty Representatives: 

  • Thomas Boogaar — tboogaar@uottawa.ca
  • Raul Colon — rcolonro@uottawa.ca

Departments

  • Visual Arts: To be confirmed (2021-2022)
  • Communications:
    • Jean-Sébastien Marier — jmarie3@uottawa.ca
  • English:
    • Jennifer Baker — jbake4@uottawa.ca
    • Erin Kean — ekean@uottawa.ca
  • Indigenous Studies: N/A
  • Classics and Religious Studies:
    • Rajiv Bhola — rbhola@uottawa.ca
    • Louise Stephens —stephenl@uottawa.ca
  • Français: Julie Delorme — Julie.Delorme@uottawa.ca
  • Geography: Roxanne Frappierrfrappi2@uottawa.ca
  • History:
    • Jo-Anne McCutcheon — jomac@uottawa.ca
    • Thomas Boogaart— tboogaar@uottawa.ca
  • OLBI (ELS): Reza Farzi — rfarzi@uottawa.ca
  • OLBI (FLS): Brunella Masciantonio  — bmascian@uottawa.ca
  • Modern Languages and Literatures:
    • Arkadi Klioutchanski  — aklioutc@uottawa.ca
    • Natalia Vesselova  — nvesselo@uottawa.ca
  • Linguistic: Gustavo Freire — gfreire@uottawa.ca
  • Music:
    • Geneviève Bazinet — gbazinet@uottawa.ca
    • Louis Trépanier — trepani@uottawa.ca
  • Philosophy:
    • Noureddine Mouelhi — nmouelhi@hotmail.com
    • Tansy Etro-Beko tetrobek@uottawa.ca
  • Information Studies:  N/A
  • Theater: To be confirmed (2021-2022)
  • Translation and Interpretation:
    • Raul Colon — rcolonro@uottawa.ca
    • Scott Irving — sirving@uottawa.ca

Faculty of Education

Faculty Representatives: 

  • Olga Fellus — olga.fellus@uottawa.ca
  • Luc Angers — langers@uottawa.ca

Departments

  • Formation à l’enseignement: To be confirmed (2021-2022)
  • Teacher Education: To be confirmed (2021-2022)
  • Graduates Studies: To be confirmed (2021-2022)

Faculty of Engineering

Faculty Representatives: 

  • Wassim El Ahmar — welahmar@uottawa.ca
  • Muslim Majeed — mmajeed@uottawa.ca

Departments

  • Chemical and Biological Engineering: Graham Creedy — gcreedy@uottawa.ca
  • Civil Engineering: 
    • Muslim Majeed — mmajeed@uottawa.ca
    • Alaa Abdulrhida — aabdu070@uottawa.ca
  • Mechanical Engineering: To be confirmed (2021-2022)
  • Electrical Engineering and Computer Science: 
    • Safaa Bedawisbedawi@uottawa.ca
    • Djilali Hamza — dhamza@uottawa.ca

Faculty of Medicine

  • Cellular Molecular Medicine: N/A
  • Innovation in Medical Education: N/A
  • Biochemistry Microbiology, Immunology: N/A
  • Epidemiology and Public Health: N/A

Faculty of Sciences

Faculty Representative: 

  • To be confirmed (2021-2022)

Departments

  • Biology: Elliott Fallerefall068@uottawa.ca
  • Chemistry : To be confirmed (2021-2022)
  • Mathematics and Statistics: Abdelkrim El Basraoui — aelba026@uottawa.ca
  • Physics : N/A
  • Earth and Environmental Sciences: N/A

Faculty of Health Sciences

Faculty Representatives: 

  • Julien Pelletierjpelleti@uottawa.ca

Departments

  • Human Kinetics: Julien Pelletierjpelleti@uottawa.ca
  • Nutrition Sciences: Charles Dabonécdabone@uottawa.ca
  • Rehabilitation Sciences: N/A
  • Health Sciences (interdisciplinary): 
    • Ron Saulnier — rsaulnie@uottawa.ca 
    • Rodrigue Deuboué — rdeub006@uottawa.ca
  • Nursing: To be confirmed (2021-2022)

Faculty of Social Sciences

Faculty Representative: 

  • Erin McCuaig-Lambrinakos — emccuaig@uottawa.ca

Departments

  • Criminology: 
    • Vajmeh Tabibi — vtabi071@uottawa.ca
    • Kate Fletcher — kfletch2@uottawa.ca
  • International Development and Global Studies: To be confirmed (2021-2022)
  • Feminist and Gender Studies: N/A
  • Political Studies: Andrew Heffernan — Andrew.Heffernan@uottawa.ca 
  • Sociological and Anthropological Studies: Jean-Francois Chapman — jchap090@uottawa.ca
  • Public and International Affairs: Massoud Khazabimkhazabi@uottawa.ca
  • Psychology: 
    • Nathalie Le Marec — nlemarec@uottawa.ca
    • Erin Leigh Courtice — ecourtic@uottawa.ca
  • Economics: Marc Prud’homme — mprudhom@uottawa.ca
  • Social Work: Nathalie Plantenplante2@uottawa.ca

Faculty of Law

Faculty Representatives: 

  • To be confirmed (2021-2022)

Departments

  • Common Law: To be confirmed (2021-2022)
  • Droit Civil: To be confirmed (2021-2022)